Violin, a Ghost Story by Anne Rice

The Gothic Tower

54aa25de4261493a42989c2d9715daad

‘HE CAME before the day Karl died.

It was late afternoon, and the city had a drowsy dusty look, the traffic on St. Charles Avenue roaring as it always does, and the big magnolia leaves outside had covered the flagstones because I had not gone out to sweep them.

I saw him come walking down the Avenue, and when he reached my corner he didn’t come across Third Street. Rather he stood before the florist shop, and turned and cocked his head and looked at me.

I was behind the curtains at the front window. Our house has many such long windows, and wide generous porches. I was merely standing there, watching the Avenue and its cars and people for no very good reason at all, as I’ve done all my life.

It isn’t too easy for someone to see me behind the curtains. The corner is busy; and the…

View original post 547 more words

Leave a Reply

